Exit Menu

Centre members

The experience of our members covers a range of sectors including Manufacturing, Offshore, Energy, Automotive, Defence, Aeronautics and Space. The membership also has strong experience with European funded research under Horizon 2020 as well as previous framework programmes.

Centre Directors

Dr Nenad Djordjevic
Nenad Djordjevic is Senior Lecturer in Structural Integrity with over 15 years of experience in research and teaching. Research expertise includes development of linear and non-linear numerical codes (FEM and SPH) for dynamic structural applications, including damage and integrity analysis of metals and composites. Through European and industry collaborations, his research involves simulation led design to support structural lightweighting solutions for a range of impact related problems in aerospace, naval and automotive sectors (including Formula 1).
Professor Rade Vignjevic
Professor Rade Vignjevic joined Brunel from Cranfield University, where he was Head of the Applied Mechanics and Astronautics Department. His area of technical expertise includes nonlinear transient finite element method, SPH, impact mechanics, crashworthiness and structural integrity. Together with his research team, they have achieved international recognition for work on modelling the transient response of materials and structures, specifically meshless methods; impact and crashworthiness of aerospace structures; and shock waves and damage in metals and composites.
Dr Kevin Hughes
Kevin is a Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering and his research interests relate to application of numerical simulation and testing to address structural lightweighting issues across different operating conditions, including extreme (crash and impact) loading. Coupling analysis led design and optimisation approaches to account for uncertainty, Kevin’s research is primarily related to the transportation sector. As a Senior Fellow with AdvanceHE, Kevin leads development of two industry based post-graduate degree programmes at the National Structural Integrity Research Centre (Cambridge).




Doctoral Researchers